eLearning Podcasts

I love podcasts. I listen to one everyday – they’ve completely replaced the radio for me, and music during my short drives to work. I still listen to music while I work, but whenever I get the chance I listen to podcasts.

Unfortunately, I have yet to find a podcast about eLearning that I really like. I’m not talking about using podcasts to deliver eLearning, there is plenty of that. I’m talking about a podcast for eLearning and/or training professionals. I’m using eLearning here very generically to cover just about everything to do with designing/developing/delivering/shaping content/activities/adventures to help people learn or do something. I tweeted the question last week and the only response was from James Kingsley (@onEnterFrame) saying “let me know if you find a good one pls.”

Syberworks, the LMS vendor has a podcast that I tried but couldn’t really get into. (I’m naturally skeptical of vendor podcasts. I fully recognize I might be missing something here.)

I recently discovered Captivating! the Adobe Captivate podcast, but haven’t listened yet. I’m not a Captivate user and most of the episodes seem to be short tutorial videos. And videos are kinda hard to watch while driving.

Based on my Google searches, there seems to be void waiting to be filled. We need a regular, ongoing eLearning podcast. If you know of one, please tell me, and others. If you want to start one, let me know. I’m game.

9 Responses to eLearning Podcasts

  1. Daniel says:

    Hiya,

    I have been doing e-learning successfully (ie improves results) for years and am starting from scratch setting in up at Kingswood Partnership (Bristol- 7 schools).

    I am happy to help out in any way you see fit.

    Regards.

    Daniel

  2. Hi Gary,
    I’m an e-learning professional and I’ve just started a podcasting – so may I humbly suggest the E-Learning Curve Podcasts (http://www.michaelhanley.ie/podcasts/) – I’d love to hear your opinion on them.

    I’ve only created two e-learning podcasts so far (I’ve been experimenting with the medium with other topics here – http://www.michaelhanley.ie/otherpodcasts/) but I intend to fold back the audio techniques I’m using into e-learning related podcasts when I start doing weekly e-learning podcasts in October.

    Sorry for all the links in the comment – I assure you I’m not trying to do a sneaky back-link thing, as my weblog the E-Learning Curve Blog already is already quite well-known in the learning community. Anyhoo, I hope you have the time to have a listen, and I look forward to your feedback.

    Best regards,
    Michael Hanley

  3. Gillian says:

    I’m happy to join the project. Email me and let’s see what can be done?
    Best,
    Gillian

  4. Vijay says:

    Brilliant idea, keep me posted please.

  5. Vijay, Gillian, Daniel,
    If I start working on something, I’ll let you know. I obviously don’t keep up with this blog on a regular basis, so I’m not sure about the time commitment for a podcast. But it would be fun.

    Gary

  6. abdi says:

    nice idea, thank

  7. I don’t know if you still maintain this blog. But I too was frustrated by the lack of podcasts for learning professionals, though a few good ones have come and gone. Anyway, I’ve started one and there are 8 interview episodes so far: http://theelearningcoach.com/category/podcasts/ and also in iTunes. The guests have been great!

  8. Julia says:

    Thumbs up for Connie Malamed’s podcast.

Leave a Reply

